First let me start by saying that I’ve not done very well with my quest for a post a day in 2011.  The good news is that my reason for not posting has been that my freelance work has been overflowing my editorial calendar lately.  Good news for me since I’ve only been at this full tilt since November 2010.  So let’s transition into the one thing I’ve learned recently.

Fear.  You know what I’m talking about.  It’s that feeling that your heart is in your throat or worse in your stomach.  It’s those niggling questions in the back of your mind or that plague your sleep.  What if I fail?  What if I screw up something for a client?  What if they think I don’t know enough?  And sometimes the fear is centered around “what if I succeed?”  Fear can definitely stand in the way of success.

I think that everyone must learn to overcome this obstacle to be successful not just as a freelancer but in life.  I’ve known that I wanted to have my own business for about ten years now.  I even named the business and launched a website over eight years ago.  As a technology coach, I had a couple of  individual clients who needed my help once or twice a year.  I also had one client who kept me on a monthly retainer so I would be available for any spontaneous questions or troubleshooting.  I was asked to teach a workshop and created the curriculum around that topic.

Every client I had raved about how much I was able to help them.  But I realize now that I never really fully believed that I could have my own business.  I never committed to buckling down and doing everything that comes with having your own business.  Especially the marketing.  I was afraid of not doing it right.  Afraid of looking amateur.  Afraid of failing.

What I’ve learned just in the last month or so is that the only thing that has been stopping me is my own fear of what might happen or what the results might be.  And sometimes those fears were so totally unfounded!  So I’ve a new commitment now.

Banish the fear.  And just do it!

What is fear stopping you from accomplishing?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.  Please leave me a comment below.

Charge Ahead in 2011!  –Megan

