What Keeps Me Up At Night?

Just for Fun, postaday2011

When I read the post a day challenge topic, my first thought was “I don’t have anything that keeps me up at night”.  But as I thought more about it, what came to mind is what used to keep me up at night when I was a child so I thought I’d share that with you instead.

For me as a child, books were everything.  I collected all kinds of books including the entire Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys series.  I had all the encyclopedia sets including a Britannica and even a Charlie Brown set.   I had a set of double books.  I was always reading wherever I was.  My mom used to say that when I was reading it was like I went deaf.  I couldn’t hear anything or anyone, because I was caught up in the world of my book.  I was transported.

We lived in a mobile home trailer on its own lot so we did have quite a bit of space outside.  We were on the corner of two street so we had a backyard, front yard and a huge side yard.  But inside things were a little tight.  My younger sister and I shared a room at one end of the trailer.  Our bedroom was off the living room and the front door was right outside our bedroom door.  So I knew that in case of fire in the middle of the night, my sister and I were going out that front door.

But what kept me up at night was how I would get my books out if there was a fire.  And I can remember it keeping me up often at night for a period of several weeks.  I knew that I wouldn’t have time to get all my books out if there were a fire.  So at first I would lay in bed trying to prioritize which books I would grab first in a fire. But any plan I came up with initially meant I would lose some of my books that were so precious to me.

I can’t remember what triggered my fear of a fire.  But in the end, the final plan, the one let me sleep at night was this.  Take one end of each bookshelf and stick it out the nearest window.  This would let all the books slide down and out onto the ground.  To my young mind it seemed the fastest way to get my books out in the event of a fire.  Thank goodness I never had to put that plan in motion.

But today, other than interruptions from my two youngest daughter who move like helicopters in the night, I sleep pretty well.

Life is good today.  So what keeps you up at  night?  Either now or when you were a child. Post a comment below.  I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

