A Million Dollars to Spend

Just for Fun, postaday2011

Today’s post a day 2011 topic asks what I would do if I won a million dollars tax-free.  I had to sit and think about that a little bit.  Then I said out loud “what would I do with a million dollars?” and my 21-year-old daughter who was sitting not far away piped up and said,

“that’s easy, I’d move out.”

“if I win a million dollars you would move out?” I asked trying to clarify.

“no If I won a million dollars I’d move out.”  she replied as if that was obvious.

“well what would you do if I won a million dollars?” I asked

“I’d stay here.” she responded with a half laugh as if again I was questioning the obvious.

So glad we got that settled right off the bat.  Now when the money rolls in at least I know where she stands.

So I guess my list of what I’d do with a million dollars probably is very similar to the list of others.  I’d buy a new house for my daughters and I, something with some land.  In fact if I won a million dollars tax-free, I probably would buy enough land for a community of houses to be built on the same property.  My oldest daughter and her son in one.  My son and his family in another.  If we didn’t go extravagant there would enough left to build a couple more.  A house for my best friend and her husband.  And at least two more houses for any of their children who might want to join our little community.  Or anyone else in my family circle who might need a place to live.  Like any one or more of my son’s friends or my daughter’s best friend and her two girls.  Each family would have to handle their own utilities, furniture and such but I’d buy the property and the houses.  I guess that would take about half a million right there.

Next on my list would have to be to pay off some debts so that the kids and I could have a clean slate for the future.  I could pay everything off for less than $10,000 at this point.

And of course I would start college funds for the kids and grandkids, something that would grow as they do.

I’ve never had an absolutely brand new, never driven by anyone else car, so I’d have to get one of those.  At this point it would probably be a Buick Rendezvous.  I love my used one that I bought last year, so why not go with what I know, only newer.

Okay so half a million or so to build my little dream community. Another say another $100,000 by the time I start college funds, pay off debt and buy a new car.

I would definitely have to invest in my own business.  There are just so many directions that I would like to go with it and several of them require money, for equipment, for computers and software, for utilities and a building.  So maybe another hundred thousand there.  A little less if I put the building on that same piece of property with the houses.

So at this point, I still have three hundred thousand left, give or take a couple thousand.  I’d love to build a foster home in our little community.  There are just so many children, of all ages, who need a stable home with family to love, support and encourage them to develop to their full potential.

That would probably just about take care of that one million dollars I would think.

Leave a Reply

